
Companies in the pharmaceutical and beauty sectors released sustainability reports one after another within a single week. Boryung announced the publication of its "Sustainability Report 2026" on June 4, 2026, and Ildong Pharmaceutical and APR disclosed, on June 5, its "2026 Sustainability Report" and the company's first report since its founding, respectively. All three belong to the area of voluntary disclosure, where publication is not required by law.
The periods covered by the three reports are broadly similar. Ildong Pharmaceutical set its reporting period from January to December 2025, and APR covered January 1 to December 31, 2025. Boryung's report likewise contains its ESG management activities and performance in 2025 and its mid- and long-term strategy.
Reporting standards vary from company to company. APR said it prepared its report in accordance with GRI Standards 2021 and reflected international disclosure indicators such as the SASB standards and the UN SDGs. Which international standards the Boryung and Ildong Pharmaceutical reports applied cannot be confirmed from the disclosed content alone. It means that documents bearing the same name are produced by different yardsticks.
The texture of the contents also differs. Ildong Pharmaceutical selected five key issues through a materiality assessment: securing future growth engines, securing talent and strengthening human resource capabilities, product quality and safety management, waste reduction and resource circulation, and strengthening anti-corruption compliance. APR said it derived its key issues based on a double materiality assessment, but did not disclose the items or their number. Boryung set a 2050 carbon neutrality target and noted that its Yesan Campus was selected for the second consecutive year as an outstanding site under the Korea Energy Agency's voluntary energy efficiency target program.
Quantitative indicators appear rarely. Ildong Pharmaceutical said its waste recycling rate exceeded 70% in 2025, but did not specify the calculation boundary. It wrote that its compliance rate with the key indicators of the corporate governance report disclosure rose 60 percentage points from the previous year, but the absolute figures for the previous year and the current year are not given. When only the extent of the increase is presented, readers have no way to tell whether the starting point was low or the end point is high.
The range wavers in Boryung's account as well. The content stating that it carried out an expansion of production facilities for oral penicillin-class antibiotics, a national essential medicine, in 2025 is common, but the increase in annual production capacity is expressed both as more than twofold and as twofold. The A grade in the Korea Fair Trade Commission's Compliance Program (CP) evaluation likewise does not carry a consistent notation of the evaluation year. The company said it is pursuing the establishment of a global supply chain in response to the worldwide supply shortage of cytotoxic anticancer drugs, and that it published the country's first guidebook for small cell lung cancer patients.
The limits of voluntary disclosure emerge more clearly in cases from other industries. According to Hanwha Aerospace's sustainability report, its safety and health investment in 2024 was 3.5 billion won, about 0.2% of its operating profit of 1.7247 trillion won in the same year. It falls short of half the 7.2 billion won invested in 2023, and also falls below the 7.6 billion won that the previous year's report said would be spent in 2024. After an explosion at the Daejeon plant left seven people dead or injured, a special investigation team of the Daejeon Metropolitan Police Agency and the Daejeon Regional Employment and Labor Office searched the Seoul headquarters and the Daejeon plant on June 4, and forensic analysis of the more than 5,400 pieces of electronic information secured was under way as of June 5.
Even when the planned amount written in a report and the amount actually spent diverge, no procedure to screen this is in place within the voluntary disclosure system. Whether third-party assurance was obtained, and if so whether the level of assurance is limited or reasonable, is also not revealed in the three reports released this time. Voluntary disclosure without assurance remains the result of indicators the company chose itself, counted in a manner it set itself.
The scope and timing of mandatory ESG disclosure in Korea remain undecided. In the meantime, voluntary publication in industries not subject to the mandate is increasing, and discussion of unified standards and assurance systems appears to be trailing behind. The next reports from the three companies are expected in the first half of 2027, and whether the same indicators are presented again in the same way then will be grounds for gauging the effectiveness of this round of publication.
The number of publications is easy to count. What is difficult is confirming what the 70%, the 60 percentage points and the 3.5 billion won inside them measure and what they leave out. The minimum those reading the reports can do is check whether absolute figures are written alongside the rates of increase, and whether the period covered and the calculation boundary are specified. An indicator missing those two is, for now, only the company's explanation.
